Idaho licenses registered nurses through the Idaho Board of Nursing, part of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL). Idaho is moving nurses to two-year licenses that renew on their birthday. Everything below comes from the board's home and fee pages, its fingerprint process sheet (April 2026) and DOPL's March 2026 renewal notice, checked October 18, 2026.
| Board | Idaho Board of Nursing (Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses) |
|---|---|
| Exam | NCLEX-RN, registered with Pearson VUE: $200 to Pearson VUE ($350 for registrations completed on or after February 1, 2027) |
| Board fee | $102 for an RN license-by-exam application (DOPL's fee table marks it with an asterisk; confirm in the application) |
| Background check | Fingerprints on an FD-258 card or by Livescan, ORI ID920220Z, reason "IDC-54-1401 Nursing License"; prints cannot be reused |
| Nurse Licensure Compact | Compact state: multistate license if you live here |
| Renewal | New licenses run at least two years and expire on your birthday (transition began April 1, 2026) |
| Continuing education | Not stated on the board's pages we checked; see the board's rules or check with the board |
| Authorization to Test | Not stated; check with the board |
Sources: Idaho Board of Nursing (DOPL), including the fee table, fingerprint process (PDF, April 2026), DOPL renewal transition notice (March 2026) and statutes, rules and guidance. Checked October 18, 2026.
Idaho is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. If Idaho is your primary state of residence and you meet the compact's uniform licensure requirements (they include a fingerprint-based state and federal background check), the board issues a multistate license that also lets you practice in every other compact state. If you live in another state, or do not meet those requirements, you get a single-state license good in Idaho only. Move your primary residence to another compact state and you must apply there for a new multistate license within 60 days.
Compact status from NCSBN, nursecompact.com, checked October 18, 2026.
An associate degree, bachelor's degree, diploma or entry-level master's program approved by a board of nursing, with an NCLEX program code. Your school confirms you graduated.
The license comes from the state board, not the exam. Apply, pay the board fee and do the background check the board asks for.
The NCLEX-RN registration fee is $200 to Pearson VUE ($350 for registrations completed on or after February 1, 2027), non-refundable. Your registration stays open 365 days while the board decides your eligibility.
When the board makes you eligible, Pearson emails your Authorization to Test (ATT). Test within its dates: they cannot be extended. The NCLEX-RN runs 85 to 150 questions in up to five hours, and it stops when the computer is 95% sure you are above or below the passing standard.
The full national walk-through and every state: How to get your RN license. NCLEX facts from NCSBN, NCLEX fees and registration.
Practice for the NCLEX freeThe NCLEX shut-off simulator: real practice questions under the exam's published stopping rules, 85 to 150 questions. No sign-up.